Roundabout

Roundabouts in Carmel, IN

I’m in the Detroit airport, on my way home from a KINDLE Program Team meeting in Indianapolis. We were actually meeting at Carmel Lutheran Church in Carmel, IN (a suburb). I wrote about Carmel Lutheran yesterday.

The Program Team meeting was awesome–we got a lot accomplished and I think God will continue to show Himself in KINDLE’s work and mission. Especially a treat to mix it up with the great minds around the table. Things I missed about home, this trip:

  • Didn’t get to see Nora Leon on the Today Show (yet). Can’t wait to see my tape of it tonight!
  • Some beautiful days (pretty rainy in Carmel)
  • My regular Weight Watchers meeting on Wednesday
  • Lots of work to do, which will need to get done after hours, now

One thing you notice, driving around in Carmel is all the roundabouts (see the picture above). My friend Melissa said there are around 40 roundabouts in Carmel (the mayor really likes them–I even found a powerpoint presentation by him about roundabouts when I Googled “roundabout”…you can look at it here). For my friends in Western New York, this would be like having 40 roundabouts in, say, Amherst or Orchard Park.  A roundabout is NOT the same thing as a traffic circle (surprise to me), but it sure has the same feel to me.

The idea is you get into the roundabout and you don’t have to stop–the flow of traffic keeps moving and you get out of the roundabout on the other side…smooth as silk.

I guess the Detroit airport is my roundabout today–I’m sliding in here will spin around a bit and spit myself back out in Buffalo. While I’ve been here, I’ve been following up on some things from the KINDLE meeting, also doing some FT work (spoke with a VBS parent, answered some office email, made some FT phone calls, etc.). Down one avenue of ministry, around the circle and out to the other. Smooth as silk. 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jack says:

    Boy, that’s a great picture, but somehow I don’t think it’s the one you took this morning! You’re right … it was a great meeting!!

  2. Tim says:

    Just love reading about your musings. keep them coming.

  3. sweetsoup says:

    LOL, Jack!!! Yup–when I saw the quality of the one I took from your car, I decided a Google search was in order…you can’t believe all the stuff about Roundabouts in Carmel! Thanks for being willing to drive around a few so I could take a picture. Hope you got home safe!

Leave a comment